Showing posts with label Peshwa dynasty. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Peshwa dynasty. Show all posts

Hinduism - Who Were The The Maratha Dynasty Of India?


The Maratha Dynasty ruled from the 17th to the 19th centuries.

The Central Indian dynasty ruled in the western state of Maharashtra, mainly along the Arabian Sea's Konkan coast.

The dynasty was formed by Shivaji, a Maratha ruler who spent the most of his life fighting the Moghul empire.

The Marathas ruled just a tiny strip of territory in western Maharashtra when Shivaji died in 1680.

The Moghul empire started to disintegrate with the death of emperor Aurangzeb in 1707, and the Marathas stepped in to fill the political vacuum.

The Maratha Confederacy ruled northern and central India from coast to coast in the mid-1700s, extending as far north as Delhi and the Ganges River valley.

The Maratha army was destroyed by the Afghans in Panipat in the state of Haryana, a little distance north of Delhi, in 1761, putting an end to expansionism.

In the conflict, both parties of warriors suffered significant casualties, rendering them unable to oppose the entrance of the British.

The Maratha Confederacy had fragmented into component states, each with its own capital, a little more than a decade later.

The Bhonsle dynasty, for example, had its capital in Nagpur, while the Holkar dynasty had its capital in Indore and the Gaikwad dynasty had its capital in Baroda.

Gwalior and Ujjain were the capitals of the Scindia dynasty, whereas Pune was the seat of the Peshwa dynasty.

Except for the last, all of them remained princely kingdoms until 1947, when India gained independence.

You may also want to read more about Hinduism here.

Be sure to check out my writings on religion here.