Showing posts with label Aranya Dashanami. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Aranya Dashanami. Show all posts

Hinduism And Hindu Theology - Who Are The Aranya Dashanami?


One of the eleven Dashanami Sanyasis divisions, ascetics who are Shiva worshippers (bhakta). 

Shankaracharya, a ninth-century philosopher, is said to have founded the Dashanamis in order to create a corps of educated men who might assist revive Hindu life. 

  • Each division is given a distinct name, such as aranya (“forest”) in this instance. 
  • New members are given this name as a surname to their new ascetic names at the time of initiation, allowing for quick group identification. 
  • These 10 "named" divisions are split into four broader organizational groupings, apart from their unique identities. 

Shankaracharya additionally created four monastic centers (maths) where each group has its headquarters. 

  • The Aranya Dashanamis are members of the Bhogawara community, which is associated with the Govardhan Math near Puri, on the Bay of Bengal.

You may also want to read more about Hinduism here.

Be sure to check out my writings on religion here.