What exactly is yoga?

Yoga, which means "youth" and "binding" in Sanskrit, is sometimes translated as a "union" or disciplinary procedure. A yogi is a man who practices yoga, and a yogini is a woman who practices yoga.

The yoga sutra was compiled by the Indian sage Patanjali about 2,000 years ago. The scriptures are a set of 196 declarations that serve as a metaphysical guidebook for most forms of yoga currently practiced.

Have the following eight yoga limbs: yama (restraint), niyama (observation), asana (posture), pranayama (breathing), prachahara (sensation withdrawal), darana (concentration), diyani (meditation), and samadhi (meditation) (absorption).

Begin by changing your behavior in the outside world and working your way inward until you achieve samadhi (liberation, enlightenment).

The third leg of asana, a body posture regimen intended to cleanse the body and provide the strength and stamina required for long-term meditation, is now practiced by the majority of yoga practitioners.